Menu

Comments for Vibram Five Fingers Shoes Review for Bunion Feet

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 04, 2012
Vibram Five Fingers Shoes Review for Bunion Feet
by: Shirley

I originally wrote the below review and posted it on Amazon for other folks a long time ago. Recently, a few people responded on Amazon indicating the Bikila line was the way to go for bunions. I tried a pair recently and they were right! This line is the definitley more suited for bunion wearers. In the Classic line, the inside of my toenail would hurt against the fabric because of the pronation. But with the LS line, the lacing system allows for a wider foot so the toe has more room to "straighten" out. In addition, the material seems more stretchy so the glove is not as tight around each toe. Anyway, just wanted to let everyone know on the board that I've definitely converted to Vibram Five Fingers since this original posting. Please note that the only line of shoes I tried was the Bikila LS line. Would love to hear from folks a about their other models.

Original review:
Since there wasn't enough info on the net about how these shoes work with bunion feet, I thought I would buy a pair and review.

So here's the skinny: Even if you have non-painful bunions, the shoes aren't going to work because the angle of the big toe causes the inside corner of each toe to hurt due to the pressure of it against the glove. In other words, for the left toe, the upper left corner of your the toe will hurt due to the pressure. And vice versa for the right toe--the upper right corner of the toe will hurt. This is because the bunion naturally wants to pronate inwards against the inner wall of the glove.

I should mention that my bunions are pretty significant with an IM angle of at somewhere between 16 and 18 degrees.

In addition, diabetics with bunions should especially be careful with the shoe since the pronation inside the shoe will cut off circulation of your big toes. So there's my disclaimer!




Apr 23, 2011
vibram komodo sport
by: vibram komodo sport

Do you ever know about the funny
Apr 18, 2011
Vibrams are helping my bunions
by: Brittany

I had a bilateral bunionectomy 6 months ago at 21 years old. I healed well except for the swelling in my large toe joint, which can take up to a year to be normal again.

I am getting more into crossfit and the vibrams were recommended because it gives you a larger base by spreading your toes apart as well as it has helped with my swelling in the joint because I am able to move that joint more freely and feel more compared to my regular tennis shoe with and inch and a half of padding. I am already shopping for my next pair.

Apr 01, 2011
Nike Air Rift
by: Anonymous

You know what actually is working out for me? The Nike Air Rift! It actually has enough space for the curvature of my big bunion so the inside corner of each toe does NOT hurt. Too bad they don't make them in more tame colors.

Mar 30, 2011
VFF
by:

Even though they may not be the solution, (and I don't think any one product is) I think these are the closest thing to barefoot walking and beter than conventional shoes as they keep the toes apart.

Mar 06, 2011
Thank you
by: Gimpy Feet Lady

Hi:

Thanks for posting this. I bought the Five Fingers yesterday but the right "stiff" part of the shoe slightly hit against my bunion and I specified that I would be able to return them if that was a problem. I am now going to return them.

Does anyone have recommendations for slippers or sandals for around the house that accomodate orthotics? Thank you! UGGS (I wear the men's short ones since they are wider) have been my saving grace but summer is coming.

Also -- any recommendations for waterproof flip-flops just to walk over to the pool and in the shower that won't hurt my bunions? Went to resort recently and realized my great Birkenstocks were now too small . . .

Jan 24, 2011
Vibram five fingers shoes
by: Helen

Thank you for this very useful information; I looked at these shoes on the web a few weeks ago and considered buying them but having read this review I shall save my money !

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and share your own thoughts on this topic! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to The Bunion Blog: Shoes.

Return to Vibram Five Fingers Shoes Review for Bunion Feet.